Unintended

I used to love this song:

“I’ll be there as soon as I can, but I’m busy mending broken pieces of the life I had before.”

But the other day I listened to it not long after reading the end of Chapter 5 of Luke’s Gospel, where Jesus is quoted as saying the following about life when we’re transformed by God so that we live to enjoy Him, rather than the old life of following man-made rules:

“No one tears a piece from a new garment and puts it on an old garment. If he does, he will tear the new, and the piece from the new will not match the old. And no one puts new wine into old wineskins. If he does, the new wine will burst the skins and it will be spilled, and the skins will be destroyed. But new wine must be put into fresh wineskins.”

… and I realised how little I want to mend the broken pieces of the life I had before.

My new life is much better, as Sho Baraka explains:

Leave a Reply

