Saved By Grace

We sang this at a funeral today, it’s absolutely awesome:

(click here to listen to the tune)

Some day the silver cord will break,
And I no more as now shall sing,
But, O, the joy when I awake
Within the palace of the King.

And I shall see him face to face
And tell the story – saved by grace
And I shall see him face to face
And tell the story – saved by grace

Some day my earthly house will fall,
I cannot tell how soon ’twill be,
But this I know, my All in All
Has now a place in heaven for me.

Some day, when fades the golden sun
Beneath the rosy-tinted West,
My blessed Lord will say “Well done!”
And I shall enter into rest.

On that great day with loudest blast,
The trumpet sounds and heavens recast;
The glorious saints as one, arise
To meet their saviour in the skies

And I shall rise in power and might,
The final plan be brought to sight!
And I shall see him face to face,
And prove the story – saved by grace.

– Fanny Crosby

I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.

– 1 Thes. 4:13-14

One thought on “Saved By Grace

  1. Thanks for posting Fanny Crosby’s great testimony song, “Saved by Grace.” If you’re not familiar with the story behind it, I invite you to check out my daily hymn blog, Wordwise Hymns, for today.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” With the arrival of fall, we begin to think of the Christmas season up ahead. If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at mine, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

Leave a Reply

