My Interpretation ((Hey Oh))

I don’t think the following is what Anthony was thinking when he wrote these lyrics, apparently he’s into Kabbalah*, but when I listen to this song, this is what I’m thinking about. And I love it.

“Come to decide that the things that I tried
were in my life just to get high on.
When I sit alone, come get a little known,
but I need more than myself this time.”

Basically, things in this life don’t last, there’s an awareness that there’s something more to be had.

“Step from the road to the sea to the sky”

A reference to walking on water and ascension?

“When will I know that I really can’t go
to the well once more? Time to decide on”

You never know how long you’ve got left of this life, need to make sure you’re sorted before its too late.

“Deep beneath the cover of another perfect wonder
where it’s so white as snow”

“Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow…”
– Isaiah 1:18

“running through the field where all my tracks will be concealed”

Future sins are covered as well as past ones. (This is not a license to go on living in sin; but when we do fail, we are already forgiven.)

“When to descend to amend for a friend,
all the channels that have broken down”

God cannot tolerate sin, so he descended from heaven to take on himself the punishment we deserve, this allows us to have the relationship with him that we couldn’t have had otherwise.

* http://altern-rock.com/bands/rhcp-anthony-kiedis

One thought on “My Interpretation ((Hey Oh))

  1. Nice one, I like what you did there.

    I love doing that to songs, one can gain all sorts of good stuff from songs that weren’t necessarily going for that 😉

Leave a Reply

