“To Alcohol…”

“… the cause of, and solution to, all of life’s problems” – Homer Simpson

Why is it cool to get drunk? I was particularly struck while watching the Brit Awards the other night, when several people finished their speeches with “I’m gonna go and get drunk now”.

If I ever win a Brit Award, it will be a night I want to remember.

I’ve gone along to events in the past with people who do like to drink, and people who’ve never met me before have told me I look bored, “like I would look if I wasn’t drunk”. If that’s the case, then I think you really need to take a look at what you think is fun. If you have to get drunk to enjoy something, is it really worth doing?

It is possible to enjoy yourself without losing control, and I don’t feel at all like I’ve missed out on anything by not getting drunk. The happiest people I know are not the ones who go out and get hammered several nights a week, they are the ones who try to live as they were designed to live, by following the guidance of the Bible. However, trying to follow all the rules will just make you depressed as you continually fail, thankfully Jesus’ died to take the punishment for our failures and will swap his perfect life for the sinful one of anyone who asks.

Leave a Reply

